¡Bienvenido a Mexico!

It’s time.

You know how you daydream and fantasize about something for months and years before it actually happens… and when the time comes, it doesn’t feel real? That feel, all of that feel. It feels like I am watching someone else take, that at any point I was going to wake up and it would be another six months away for ME to go.

I was pretty numb the entire trip to the airport and the first flight from Philly to Chicago. Detached even. I kept looking over at Drew, holding his hand, focusing on the seats in the plane, and trying very hard to be present in that moment. It was fun to fly though–I almost forgot how much I love the rush taking off and landing in a plane. 🙂

The flight from Chicago to San Diego really took it out of me. A combination of lack of sleep, lack of food, nausea, stress, and the fact that my damn ears don’t pop like they should– I was looking pretty green. I closed my window, pulled my sweater over my head, and desperately tired to get some relief. Thank the Gods Drew bought me those spiffy Bose noise-canceling headphones, because the plane noise was just making it worse. The flight attendant was very nice, and after we told her what was going on, she checked up on me throughout the trip.

Speaking of plane accommodations, I am SO glad we got an extra seat. I mean, I wouldn’t have been able to go without it period, but Drew had room to stretch his legs (since I’m so short, I didn’t need the leg room) and I had plenty of room for my big butt. We were given a “priority boarding” pass so that I could get a row of seats right away, and the flight attendants were very nice. All I had to do was ask for a seatbelt extender and I was good to go!

Finally arriving in San Diego, we waited for the hospital van to pick us up. I had a bit of a breakdown when we sat there for an hour or so, as I was trying to call every number I could to get a hold of someone to come and get us. Luckily, I got a text back from one of the liaisons with the right number, and the van was there in maybe 15 minutes tops. If there is anything I could say that was a negative, it was that I didn’t have the right number. But I was the only one to pick up, it was a Sunday, and I kind of expected it from what other people told me. Still made me scared.

As soon as the van arrived, Omar (driver) helped us with our bags and we were on our way. We talked about Mexico, he pointed out a couple of landmarks on the way, and he talked about some of the people he has met while being a driver for Hospital Jerusalem. We did get stopped at the border, but the officers were polite and of course there were no issues. Driving through Tijuana was not necessarily unnerving, but it is important to understand you are traveling in a country where most of the citizens are living in poverty. It reminded me of the rougher parts of Harrisburg or any other major city.

Our first stop was the clinic to get my blood work done. Now, the clinic IS in a strip mall, so that’s another important piece to note. It’s a tiny hole in the wall kind of place. But to be honest, there are plenty of clinics and doctors that have offices in strip malls, so there is no reason to get bent out of shape over it. Besides, the place was cleaner than some hospitals I’ve been to in the US.

As soon as my blood was drawn, Omar took us to the The Hotel Ticuan. What a gorgeous place!!! This hotel is spotless, and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. I met the nurses that stay in the hospital, too. They were available 24/7 for anything I would need. They helped us take our bags up to our room, and the rest of the evening was ours…

BUT HOLY MOTHER OF GOD JET LAG. I have never been so grateful to belly flop on a bed my entire life. Drew and I decided to take a small nap since I could barely form full sentences anymore at that point, and then head down to the restaurant in the hotel for dinner.

The restaurant was beautiful and the food was some of the best food Drew has ever had. I snuck a spoon of his cream of broccoli soup, and I have never tasted anything like it before in my life. We were given vouchers for my “meals” broth, jello, otter ice pops, etc. that we could pick up at any time at the receptionist, but when I asked about them, a server ran off and delivered them on a small plate with a napkin. How sweet! What a wonderful way to begin this entire experience. By about 7pm, Drew and I were both ready for a good night’s rest, and we both went to bed, ready to start bright and early the next morning… surgery day.

Posted on September 22, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment