Training Wheels

I wanted to write more often during the surgery process, but let’s be honest, I should have known I’d be too out of sorts, or just too darn tired. I should have just let Siri dictate everything I say, but goodness knows… she’s not always the best translator either. So I’ll do my best to get you up to speed with everything that has happened the last few days.

Surgery came and went like a blur, I got to meet five other people who would be having the surgery along with me that day. We sat in the lobby of the Hotel Ticuan, anxiously waiting for the big white van from the hospital to pick us up. I was also very happy the find that Drew was going to have a buddy to pal around with during our stay, as one of the gentleman had his brother along for moral support. The four of us became fast friends, and while “Steve” and I were in recovery, that gave Drew and “John” plenty of time to get themselves into trouble around Tijuana.

On the van to the hospital we all exchanged contact information. Just in case we were to drugged up to remember, and before we went our separate ways. Plus this was a big moment for me, I wanted to remember these faces and names, because they were going to be as much a part of my new life as anything else.

We got to meet with the surgeon briefly before he got started. He asked us how we were doing on the pre-op diet, and how much we had lost. He was REALLY proud of me when I told him that I had been working so hard, with over 20 days on the liquids, and almost 30 pounds lost. He told me I had real passion, and he was very pleased. Each of us got our picture taken with him, and one at a time we were taken into surgery. The last thing I remember is looking at the ER nurse as I walked up to the table. I whispered, “I’m scared” and she wrapped me in her arms tightly. With that, I laid on the table, and I was gone.

The night at the clinic was tough. Sleeping on my back is excruciating, and with tubes, wires, and the expected pain from two major surgeries done at once… I was just struggling to get through the night. My roommate and I got it down to a system though, since they checked on us once an hour, we both got up and went to the bathroom, so we didn’t end up disturbing each other more than necessary. But needless to say, we were all ready to leave for the hotel the next morning.

Each day got a little easier after that. I took small walks when I could, and I finally figured out the right pillow-to-heating pad configuration that didn’t have me waking up unable to move. The hotel receptionists were friendly, and the restaurant staff were stellar as well. They give you vouchers for all the juice, broth, and popsicles you want. The nurses were came by each night to change dressings and administer meds. Now, here is another important thing to note– you have to keep after them. They have a lot of patients stretched all over that hotel, and if they forgot something, they were quick to correct it. You might have to call them, but that’s why there is dedicated number to the nurses’ room. And work with them. If they have a few patients that they have to change dressings on first, chill out, get your shower and be ready for them as soon as they get there. That way it doesn’t waste anyone’s time.

It’s no different than a US hospital, where nurses are constantly busy– you just have to be diligent and NICE. I know that can be such a novel concept to people who expect their every need to be met at the moment they need it. And I think that is why some people have such a horrible experience with Jerusalem Hospital. It has nothing to do with the care, or the facilities, or whatever you want to pick on (because those are the first things to complain about) it’s because the attitude is “I’m spending a lot of money, and the customer is always right.” Sure. The customer is always right. Except when they aren’t. Or they are acting like a douchebag.

And as far as the care is concerned, I have never seen a nurse take such care in wrapping an IV, wound care, or administering meds. I’ve had IVs in US hospitals that it took me a week just to get the glue off from sloppy tape jobs, or worse that my skin becomes to inflamed from ripping the skin with the bandages over and over again. These guys were so neat and meticulous about it, it was really quite impressive. I was also really glad to finally get the two drains out on Thursday night. It’s not that they were painful, but they were certainly a force to contend with when already dealing with limited mobility and pain.

The last meal at the Hotel Ticuan was bittersweet as we sat there with a few of the friends we’d made. Drew’s dessert he ordered came with a huge sprig of mint, so I asked the waiter for a cup of hot water. He was so confused, until I let him try what I made— hot, fresh mint tea. I was missing home, and ready to be able to be in my own chair, my own bed… just everything. Drew and I decided to have one “cultural” adventure before we left too–there was a boxing match going on in the arena next to the hotel. It was a fun and interesting end to my week in Tijuana. The training wheels are coming off now, and I’m on my own from here to move forward with my new life.

Posted on October 3, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment